Skip to content

Election results: Greene, Pearlman win Select Board seats as Thall, Moghtader, Hefter elected to School Committee

A voter fills out a ballot during the May 7, 2024 town election. Photo by Clare Ong
May 7, 2024

Voters reelected incumbent Chair Bernard Greene and elected outgoing School Committee Chair David Pearlman to the Select Board in Tuesday’s town election.

It was a losing night for the most progressive candidates for seats on the Select Board and School Committee. Alec Lebovitz, who ran for Select Board, and Miriam Aschkenasy, who gave up a seat on the Select Board to run for School Committee, campaigned as a slate. For the School Committee, voters chose Carolyn Thall, Sarah Moghtader, and Jesse Hefter.

In the race for a seat on the Brookline Housing Authority Board of Commissioners, the second time was the charm for BHA resident Kimberley Richardson. After narrowly losing to affordable housing lawyer Susan Cohen last year, she won this time around.

Neil Wishinsky was elected as town moderator, running unopposed. Ben Kaufman was reelected as Town Clerk without an opponent. Four library trustees were also elected unopposed: Judith Goleman, Kristin Hung, Carol Lohe and Sassan Zelkha.

Support Brookline.News

Hi, this is Sam Mintz, the editor of Brookline.News. Thanks so much for reading our work and supporting us during our first year. In our next year, we want to expand our journalism to cover more of the subjects you care about, and write stories that go more in-depth into life in Brookline. But to do that, we need your help. Please consider making a tax deductible donation this spring to help us grow.

Just over 5,000 people voted early and by mail, more than half of the total 9,640 votes cast, according to Town Clerk Ben Kaufman.

Select Board

In the race for the two available seats on the town’s executive board, Greene tallied 5,125 votes and Pearlman tallied 4,599, according to unofficial results published by the town Tuesday night.

Lebovitz, a Town Meeting member, was the third highest vote getter, receiving 2,988 votes. Susan Park finished with 2,524 votes and Sana Hafeez with 867.

School Committee

In the race for three available seats on the School Committee, Thall received 5,816 votes, Hefter received 5,379 and Moghtader received 5,661.

Aschkenasy received 4,159 votes.

Brookline Housing Authority Board of Commissioners

In the race for an open seat on the BHA board, Richardson received 4,192 votes, while housing consultant Lynne Sweet received 3,492 votes and Town Meeting member Shawn O’Neal tallied 639.

Town Meeting

In races for seats in Town Meeting, winners are listed by precinct, with the number of votes in parentheses.

Precinct 1: Sarah Moghtader (330), Louise King (309), Neil Gordon (307), Katherine Ingraham (282), Robert Schoen (245)

Precinct 1 (single seat): Bradford Kimball (280)

Precinct 2: Carol Gladstone (203), Kimberley Richardson (203), Katha Seidman (161), James Franco (147), Richard Snyder (140)

Precinct 3: Kathleen Scanlon (434), Rebecca Stone (366), Jane Gilman (365), Mary Dewart (327), Gina Hahn (324)

Precinct 3 (single seat): Donald Leka (233)

Precinct 4: Robert Daves (254), Alan Christ (248), Lisamarie Sears (241), Karen Ambrose (223)

Precinct 5: Phyllis O’Leary (338), Kevin England (330), Beth Miller (330), Omar Mabrouk (325), Hugh Mattison (320)

Precinct 6: Scott Englander (460), Jeffrey Rudolph (438), Arthur Conquest (351), Dave Porter (338), Ruvi Kitov (301)

Precinct 7: David Eber (251), Jonathan Margolis (246), Kelly Hardebeck (238), Roberta Falke (231), Ernest Frey (225)

Precinct 8: Charles Homer (379), William Heinemann (370), Daria Mark (341), David Tytell (279), Nels Carlson (253)

Precinct 9: Elizabeth Loula (425), Sarah Kitterman (393), Gary Shiffman (377), Joseph Katz (339), Gerald Tuckman (290)

Precinct 10: C Scott Ananian (349), Katherine Florio (333), Jeremy Isikoff (332), David Klafter (329), Conor Sheehan (301)

Precinct 10 (single seat): Jessica Lang (379)

Precinct 11: Anne Weaver (388), David Lescohier (373), Leonard Wholey (361), Benjamin Garfinkel (352), Kenneth Lewis (306)

Precinct 12: Harry Friedman (353), Nancy Cavanaugh (351), Eric Mcnulty (329), Jonathan Karon (302), Lee Cooke-Childs (236)

Precinct 13: Jonathan Fine (456), John Freeman (332), Paul Saner (314), Brian Ladd (293), Thomas Renkes (278)

Precinct 13 (single seat): Mark Gerber (298)

Precinct 14: Pamela Lodish (436), Carlos Ridruejo (411), David Eisenberg (411), Richard Fredkin (405), Roger Lipson (404)

Precinct 15: Michael Berger (411), Kristine Knauf (382), Ira Krepchin (368), Deborah Hatzieleftheriadis (365), Jean Senat-Fleury (339)

Precinct 16: Scott Gladstone (437), Alisa Jonas (397), Julie Jette (360), Richard Murphy (357), Regina Frawley (339)

Precinct 17: Christopher Reale (321), Susan Roberts (299), Rita Mcnally (281), Livia Schachter-Kahl (281), John Shreffler (260)

Precinct 17 (single seat): Katherine Haenschen (266)